Chelsea rightly awarded late penalty, says Hiddink

Date published: Saturday 19th March 2016 6:49

Guus Hiddink: Says Chelsea deserved controversial penalty

Guus Hiddink: Says Chelsea deserved controversial penalty

Guus Hiddink believes Chelsea were rightly awarded a controversial late penalty that clinched a 2-2 draw against West Ham at Stamford Bridge.

Ruben Loftus-Cheek was judged to have been tripped by Hammers winger Michail Antonio, but replays showed that the contact was minimal and just outside of the area.

Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas, who scored Chelsea’s first goal with a wonderful free-kick, converted the 89th minute spot kick to deny West Ham their first win at the Bridge in 14 years.

Slaven Bilic’s side looked to be heading for the win after goals from Manuel Lanzini and substitute Andy Carroll put them in a 2-1 lead with minutes remaining, but they had to settle for a draw and as a result miss the opportunity to go fourth in the Premier League.

Depsite the penalty appearing to be a very harsh decision, Chelsea interim manager Guus Hiddink believes his side were rightly awarded the spot kick.

Speaking after the match, the Dutchman said: “We started well in the first 10 minutes but we then started losing the possession too easily.

“We reacted just before half-time, especially with the beautiful Cesc Fabregas free-kick. In the second half we got caught on the counter, but we reacted perfectly to get the draw.

“This is a very good West Ham side. They are knocking on the door for the top four. I was happy with the late penalty decision.

“It’s difficult for me to make a judgement – I think he was tripped on the line. On the line is part of the box.”

Related Articles

Your Say