England confirm friendly matches as part of Euro 2016 build-up

Date published: Friday 4th March 2016 12:43

England: Confirm summer schedule

England: Confirm summer schedule

England will play Turkey on May 22, Australia on May 27 and Portugal on June 2 in warm-up friendlies before Euro 2016, the Football Association has announced.

The Three Lions take on Turkey at The Etihad, the home of Manchester City on Sunday, May 22, with a kick-off time to be confirmed, before heading to Sunderland’s Stadium of Light to face Australia on Friday,  May 27 at 7.45pm.

England’s final friendly ahead of the tournament will be against Portugal at Wembley on Thursday, June 2 with a kick-off time of 7.45pm.

England coach Roy Hodgson told the FA’s website: “I’m happy that we have been able to secure three challenging opponents that will help us prepare for the tournament.

“Since the draw in Paris last December, The FA has worked hard to put together a programme of games around the country and we’re looking forward to playing in the north-west and north-east before the final home game at Wembley.”

England’s full summer schedule:

Thursday 12 May – Euro 2016 England squad announcement at Wembley Stadium

Sunday 15 May – End of Premier League season

Wednesday 18 May – England squad convene at St George’s Park

Saturday 21 May – FA Cup Final

Sunday 22 May – England v Turkey at the Manchester City Stadium

Friday 27 May – England v Australia at the Stadium of Light, Sunderland

Thursday 31 May – UEFA deadline for all competing nations to submit a squad of 23 players for Euro 2016

Thursday 2 June – England v Portugal at Wembley Stadium

Monday 6 June – England depart for France 2016

Saturday 11 June – England v Russia, Stade Velodrome, Marseille

Thursday 16 June – England v Wales, Stade Bollaert-Delelis, Lens Agglo

Monday 20 June – Slovakia v England, Stade Geoffroy Guichard, St Etienne.

Related Articles

Your Say