Five vital matches that defined Leicester’s title triumph

Date published: Monday 2nd May 2016 11:03

Robert Huth: Late header earned victory at Spurs

We look at five defining matches over the course of the season as Leicester claimed the most unexpected title triumph of all time.

Leicester have won an improbable title after Tottenham were held to a 2-2 draw at Chelsea to confirm a stunning success this season.

Here, we look at five defining games which clinched a historic Barclays Premier League crown for the Foxes.

September 13: Leicester 3-2 Aston Villa

A defining moment in both clubs’ seasons which has sent them in different directions. Goals from Jack Grealish and Carles Gil had put Villa 2-0 up, a lead they held going into the final 20 minutes.

Ritchie De Laet started the comeback with 19 minutes left before Jamie Vardy levelled – the second goal in his record-breaking 11 game scoring run.

Nathan Dyer’s last-minute header won it for the Foxes as they kept their early-season form going.

January 13: Tottenham 0-1 Leicester

The second of three games between the sides in 10 days saw Leicester win the crucial Premier League match as Spurs took the FA Cup honours.

Robert Huth’s 83rd-minute header won the game and ended a streak of three goalless games for the Foxes.

It moved them seven points clear of Tottenham, who sat fourth, with Claudio Ranieri’s side then joint top with Arsenal.

February 6: Manchester City 1-3 Leicester

In the middle of a three-game spell against Liverpool, City and Arsenal the Foxes stunned their hosts at the Etihad.

Robert Huth’s early goal put City on the back foot before Riyad Mahrez left Martin Demichelis in another postcode to drive in an early second-half goal.

Huth’s second meant Sergio Aguero’s late consolation was rendered meaningless as Leicester continued to send out title warnings.

April 24: Leicester 4-0 Swansea

All eyes were on how the Foxes could cope without the suspended Jamie Vardy after he was banned following a red card in their previous 2-2 draw with West Ham.

Ranieri’s side emphatically answered any critics as they brushed aside the Swans, with Vardy’s replacement Leonardo Ulloa scoring twice.

Riyad Mahrez and Marc Albrighton started and finished the rout and 24 hours later Tottenham drew 1-1 with West Brom to leave Leicester three points from the title.

May 1: Manchester United 1-1 Leicester

After Tottenham failed to beat West Brom, Leicester were presented with their first chance to clinch the title if they could win at Old Trafford.

The Foxes were again without Jamie Vardy after he was given an additional one-game suspension following his dismissal against the Hammers.

And they were behind early on after Anthony Martial scored for United but captain Wes Morgan levelled and when Spurs failed to win at Chelsea the following day, Leicester were crowned champions.

Related Articles