How the voting was broken down at FIFA’s Best Player awards

Date published: Tuesday 10th January 2017 10:52

The breakdown of the voting at the FIFA Football Awards ceremony has been revealed – and it will come as no surprise to hear that Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi did not vote for one another to Best Player.

At the inaugural ceremony on Monday, Ronaldo capped off an incredible 2016 by being crowned the world’s best player.

The Portuguese collected his fourth Ballon d’Or only last month, having inspired Real Madrid to Champions League glory before leading Portugal to victory at Euro 2016.

The Real star voted for three of his team-mates to win the award however, while second-placed Messi picked a trio of Barcelona stars.

Ronaldo received 34.54% of the total votes, with captains, managers and journalists naming their top three players of 2016. Messi came second with 26.42%, while Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann polled 7.53% of the votes.

Add Sky Cinema for just £8.50 a month extra, if you already have Sky Sports

Here are the votes from some select individuals (the full list can be viewed here):


Lionel Messi (Argentina): 1. Suarez 2. Neymar 3. Iniesta

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal): Bale, Modric, Ramos

Wayne Rooney (England): Ronaldo, Suarez, Vardy. (Rooney also voted for Jurgen Klopp third in the voting for best manager.)

Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Armenia): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann

Dani Alves (Brazil): Messi, Neymar, Suarez

Luka Modric (Croatia): Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar

Manuel Neuer (Germany): Kroos, Ozil, Lewandowski

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy): Messi, Bale, Ronaldo

Arjen Robben (Netherlands): Ronaldo, Kroos, Lewandowski

Andreas Granqvist (Sweden): Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo, Bale

Steven Davis (Northern Ireland): Messi, Ronaldo, Griezmann

Seamus Coleman (Republic of Ireland): Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez

Darren Fletcher (Scotland): Ronaldo, Suarez, Messi

Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia): Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar

Sergio Ramos (Spain): Ronaldo, Messi, Iniesta

Billy Forbes (Turks and Caicos): Vardy, Ronaldo, Messi

Ashley Williams (Wales): Bale, Messi, Lewandowski



Gareth Southgate (England): Ronaldo, Griezmann, Kante

Chris Coleman (Wales): Bale, Sanchez, Vardy

Michael O’Neill (Northern Ireland): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann

Martin O’Neill (Republic of Ireland): Bale, Buffon, Kante

Gordon Strachan (Scotland): Messi, Suarez, Aguero

Juan Antonio Pizze (Chile): Sanchez. He did not pick anyone in second or third.



Duncan Castles: Ronaldo, Suarez, Neuer

Add Sky Sports and enjoy live sport across 8 channels for just £18 a month extra if you have Sky Cinema

Related Articles