Latest data makes a myth of Manchester United penalty claims

Date published: Wednesday 22nd February 2017 2:30

Manchester United are on the longest run without a penalty of any Premier League club, in contrast to their historical reputation.

We take a look at the penalty records of all the Premier League teams with Man City and Tottenham leading the way this season.

Press Association Sport data also shows that after Wigan (scored) and Huddersfield (missed) were finally awarded penalties on Tuesday night, Rotherham are the only remaining club in England’s top four divisions without a spot-kick in the league this season.

Here, we look at some of the key facts.

  • United have had only one league penalty all season and have now waited 23 games for another to come around. That contrasts sharply with the previous decade – they averaged seven per season in the last seven years of Sir Alex Ferguson’s reign, had five in 2013-14 and eight in two seasons under Louis van Gaal.
  • By contrast, United’s rivals Manchester City lead the way alongside Tottenham – both teams have had seven league penalties this season and scored five.
  •  Liverpool are just one behind and have scored all six. Arsenal have also been awarded six.
  • Aside from United, West Brom are the only other top-flight club with just one spot-kick to their name.
  • The average Premier League club has been awarded 3.9 penalties this season, scoring 3.2. Stoke and West Ham fit that pattern most closely, each scoring three from four.

Penalties awarded this season/games since last penalty:

(Data correct as of February 22)

Arsenal – 6 penalties/0 games since last penalty

Bournemouth – 5/4

Burnley – 4/1

Chelsea – 3/2

Crystal Palace – 5/7

Everton – 3/5

Hull – 2/10

Leicester – 5/12

Liverpool – 6/4

Manchester City – 7/2

Manchester Utd – 1/23

Middlesbrough – 2/2

Southampton – 3/3

Stoke – 4/8

Sunderland – 5/5

Swansea – 3/10

Tottenham – 7/1

Watford – 2/7

West Brom – 1/20

West Ham – 4/8

Related Articles