Sack Race: United boss Van Gaal eases, but still favourite

Date published: Tuesday 19th January 2016 11:47

Louis van Gaal: Planning to enjoy Valentine's Day

 Louis van Gaal’s problems at Manchester United might have eased, but the Dutchman’s head is still on the chopping block, all in the Sack Race.

1. Louis van Gaal (NM)

In the last Sack Race article the bookies had Van Gaal at 1/6 to go next and he shortened even further following a string on uninspiring performances.

However, Sunday’s 1-0 win at Liverpool has stopped the stem of money for the Dutchman and, although he is still the favourite for the boot, he has drifted out to around 1/2.

Van Gaal claimed he was “very happy” after the win at Anfield and said the victory was “a big step in a good direction”. It remains to be seen whether the forthcoming games against Southampton and Derby will prove to be two steps backwards.

The recent home defeat by Norwich looked to be the end of the line for Van Gaal, who has reportedly offered his resignation twice already this season – in and around the time of the defeat to Stoke on Boxing Day.

United chiefs though are apparently keen for Van Gaal to plunder on and Sunday’s crucial win over their rivals at Liverpool would have been the tonic they were looking for. Whether or not that victory can be the catalyst for the club’s improving form remains to be seen and Van Gaal’s position is still somewhat precarious.

If he was to offer his resignation for a third time, then executive vice-chairman Ed Woodward might well be inclined to accept it, so Van Gaal is still a worthy favourite.

2. Remi Garde (↑1)

The Frenchman has moved into second position, despite chalking up his first Premier League win over Crystal Palace earlier this month.

Garde still has a gargantuan task to keep Villa in the Premier League as they still sit 10 points adrift of safety after Swansea’s win over Watford.

3. No Manager to Leave (↑3)

4. Steve McClaren (↓5)

= Alex Neil (NM)

6. Quique Flores (↑4)

7. Manuel Pellegrini (↑2)

= Ronald Koeman (↓3)

= Sam Allardyce (NM)

10. Roberto Martinez (NM)

= Tony Pulis (↓2)

12. Slaven Bilic (↓2)

= Mark Hughes (↓3)

14. Eddie Howe (↓4)

15. Alan Pardew (↓5)

16. Arsene Wenger (↓1)

= Mauricio Pochettino (NM)

= Claudio Ranieri (↓1)

= Jurgen Klopp (↑1)

Matthew Briggs

Related Articles