Scunthorpe part with seven

Date published: Tuesday 5th May 2015 12:18

The departures of goalkeepers Sam Slocombe and James Severn, defenders Eddie Nolan, Marcus Williams, Miguel Llera and Callum Howe, plus midfielder Matt Sparrow were all announced individually via the club’s official Twitter account. Severn’s exit was the latest to be confirmed.

“Goalkeeper James Severn will leave the club at the end of his current deal this summer. We wish James all the best for the future,” the club said.

Scunthorpe also confirmed Andy Dawson will be retained as a coach. The 36-year-old defender was restricted to five playing appearances this season.

The Iron secured their Sky Bet League One status in their penultimate match – they closed the season on a dismal note with a 5-2 defeat at rivals Doncaster – and manager Mark Robins is undertaking a complete overhaul of his squad.

Chairman Peter Swann has suggested as many as 10 new arrivals can be expected during the summer.

Three other out-of-contract players, forward Gary McSheffrey, midfielder Isaiah Osbourne and goalkeeper Joe Anyon, are due to hold talks with the club over new deals in the coming weeks.

Related Articles