Spain appoint former Porto coach Lopetegui

Date published: Thursday 21st July 2016 3:15

Spain have named as their new coach former Porto boss Julen Lopetegui, who had been linked with Wolves this summer.

The 49-year-old takes over from Vicente del Bosque, who confirmed after Euro 2016 he would not be extending his eight-year stay in the Spain hotseat.

A statement on the Spanish federation (RFEF) website said: “The RFEF has appointed Julen Lopetegui as the new national team coach.”

Lopetegui will be presented at 1830 local time this evening, at the RFEF headquarters in Madrid.

A former goalkeeper with the likes of Real Madrid, Barcelona, Logrones and Rayo Vallecano, Lopetegui has coached Spain at various youth levels and was in charge of the side that won the European Under-21 Championship in 2013 – a team including David de Gea, Koke, Isco and Thiago Alcantara.

Spain also won the European Under-19 Championship under Lopetegui in 2012.

The Basque, who was part of Spain’s 1994 World Cup squad but only won one cap in his career, ended his four-year association with the RFEF in 2014 before taking charge of Porto on a three-year contract.

However, he was unable to claim any silverware with the Portuguese giants and was dismissed in January after 18 months.

Lopetegui has big boots to fill in charge of the senior Spain team, with the outgoing Del Bosque having been the most successful coach in La Roja’s history.

The ex-Real Madrid boss led Spain to victory at both the 2010 World Cup and Euro 2012 while winning over 75 per cent of his 114 matches in charge.

Del Bosque’s final game was the Euro 2016 last-16 clash against Italy, where a 2-0 defeat ended with the holders being knocked out.

The 65-year-old confirmed in the wake of that loss he would not be extending his Spain contract which was due to run out at the end of this month.

Spain are due to play Belgium in a friendly on September 1 before beginning their qualifying campaign for the 2018 World Cup against Liechtenstein four days later. The other teams in Spain’s qualifying group are Italy, Albania, Israel and FYR Macedonia.

Related Articles