WATCH: Is Smalling right? Should Payet have seen red?

Date published: Tuesday 15th March 2016 9:59

Dimitri Payet: Could have seen red

Dimitri Payet: Could have seen red

Chris Smalling has accused Dimitri Payet of diving and says the West Ham playmaker should have been sent off on Sunday.

Smalling claims that Payet tried to con the referee and win the Hammers a penalty after the midfielder went down in the box under a challenge from Marcos Rojo.

The French star, who had already been booked for a foul on Jesse Lingaard, was not awarded a spot-kick, however referee Martin Atkinson also chose not to book the Hammers ace.

Payet went on to score a stunning 30-yard free-kick before Anthony Martial scrambled home a late equaliser to earn an FA Cup replay.

Smalling said: “I’ve heard there was no contact and, to be fair, it should have been another yellow card.

“There are many decisions in a game and it’s one that didn’t go our way.

“I think if they’re not going to give a penalty, then it’s got to be diving really, hasn’t it?

“It’s frustrating for us and obviously they punished us with a very good free-kick.

“I think, more often than not, if you dive you do get a yellow card. Obviously on this occasion it didn’t happen.”

Related Articles

Your Say