Overlooked Arsenal ace on verge of intriguing transfer to Mexico as Edu severs ties

Marcelo Flores during an Arsenal academy match

Arsenal academy midfielder Marcelo Flores

Arsenal are selling Marcelo Flores to Tigres UANL in his native Mexico, according to reports.

Flores came through the Arsenal academy but has never received his competitive debut for the club and had to spend last season on loan in the Spanish second tier with Real Oviedo.

Although there are still two years remaining on his contract with Arsenal, it appears the club are about to sell him on a permanent basis. According to Charles Watts, Flores is now in the process of ‘finalising’ his move to Tigres.

The value of the transfer fee that Arsenal will be receiving has not yet come to light.

Although born in Canada, Flores represents Mexico at international level and will now get to play there at club level as well.

Mexico’s transfer window remains open until September 13, which has given Tigres the opportunity to swoop in for Flores despite the English window being closed.

The Tigres squad currently contains players such as former France international Andre-Pierre Gignac, former Watford defender Samir and a handful of Flores’ international colleagues.

Currently the reigning champions of the Liga MX after winning the Clausura 2023, they will enter the 2024 CONCACAF Champions Cup in the first round.

READ MOREKai Havertz reveals honest opinion on Arsenal transfer disaster theories after controversial Chelsea move

An attacking midfielder, Flores featured 32 times for Arsenal at under-18 level, scoring 10 goals, and 16 times with their under-21s, for whom he found the net five times.

While at Real Oviedo, he played in 15 games but only contributed one assist and no goals.

Despite still only being 19 years of age, it seems he is ready to step up his progress at senior level and that means leaving Arsenal behind.

With business largely being conducted by sporting director Edu, other academy graduates to have left Arsenal in recent months include Folarin Balogun, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Matt Smith and Ryan Alebiosu, among others.