Fulham boss left furious as controversy surrounds Preston draw

Date published: Saturday 27th November 2021 8:08 - Sean Byrne

Fulham boss Marco Silva was left fuming at match officials after his side conceded late to be held to a 1-1 draw against Preston North End.

Tim Ream gifted the visitors the lead after just fifteen minutes from a routine set-piece. With chances on both ends, Fulham looked to be doing enough to take all three points from Deepdale. However, a controversial Ched Evans goal brought Preston back level, as the shares were spoiled following an entertaining clash.

But Silva felt his side were robbed of the victory, as he called out the referee’s performance in his post-match interview.

He said: “That was a big mistake from the referee and the linesman.

“There was an elbow in there and then a clear handball before the ball goes over the line. It’s difficult for us to accept, but again the referee had a bad performance.

“We’ve ended up losing two points, and it’s not been our fault again. We had a similar situation against Coventry recently.

“It was a really tough game for us, but that’s just what we expected.

Fulham players erupted in anger as Evans’ goal was allowed to stand, with many protests feeling there was a handball in the build-up.

But Silva did also admit Fulham weren’t at their best in the game, and that a point on the road is still something to be pleased with:

“That isn’t an excuse though. It should be up to us to create more problems for the opposition.

“I saw a good reaction from the players in the first half, but the second half was much different.

“It wasn’t the best from us, and some players do need to improve further. But it’s another point on the road and it is an important one.”

Pundit argues Fulham should see red

Former Preston North End manager Alex Neil believed Antonee Robinson should’ve seen red for a strong challenge on Tom Barkhuizen.

Barkhuizen was forced off the pitch as a result of the tackle, however the American only saw yellow for his actions.

Speaking as a pundit on Sky Sports, Neil strongly disagreed with the decision.

He said: “I know he makes contact with the ball but at this moment in time, the ruling isn’t whether you touch the ball or not it is whether you endanger the opponent.

“It is everything, absolutely everything. Two feet off the floor, he has scissored Tom’s leg. It is straight and standing and if he goes over the top of that he could easily have broken his leg.

“It is a definite red card for me.”

READ MORE: Liverpool and Leeds target offered huge money to stay in Championship

Related Articles

HAVE YOUR SAY IN OUR FORUM