Antonio gets first call-up as Allardyce names England squad

Date published: Sunday 28th August 2016 7:40

Sam Allardyce: Names first England side

Sam Allardyce has named his first squad as manager of the England National Team, with a debut call-up for Michael Antonio the highlight.

There is however no room for Jermaine Defoe, with the Sunderland striker left out in favour of three strikers, namely Jamie Vardy, Daniel Sturridge and Harry Kane.

Joe Hart is named in the squad despite uncertainty surrounding his future at Manchester City and a lack of league minutes, while Burnley’s Tom Heaton is also named.

Danny Rose, Kyle Walker, Nathaniel Clyne and Luke Shaw are the full-back options, while Gary Cahill, John Stones, Chris Smalling and Phil Jagielka are the four CBs.

Theo Walcott, Raheem Sterling, Adam Lallana, Wayne Rooney, Dele Alli and Antonio all provide attacking threat in midfield, while Eric Dier and Jordan Henderson are the anchor men. Ross Barkely has also been left out.

Danny Drinkwater is also present in the midfield after missing out on selection for the Euros, while Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain is relegated from the squad, and there is still no place for Andros Townsend.

There is also no spot for Mark Noble or Jack Wilshere in the midfield.

Sam Allardyce’s first match is away at Slovakia on Sunday as England begin their 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign.

Related Articles