Aubameyang beats Toure to African Player of Year award

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang: Poses with his trophy

Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has beaten Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure to be named African Footballer of the Year.

The Gabon hitman earned 143 points to win the gong while Manchester City midfielder Toure finished second with 136.


Swansea star Andre Ayew was third with 112 points.

Aubameyang becomes the first player to win the award from Gabon after an incredible 2015 with Dortmund.

He has 27 goals in 27 games for the Bundesliga side since the start of the current season, having begun to establish himself as one of Europe’s most prolific forwards towards the end of the last campaign.

Toure, who won the African Nations Cup with his country last February, was sorry to miss out on extending his streak of personal accolades at the ceremony in Abuja, Nigeria, on Thursday night.

He told BBC Sport: “I’m quite disappointed, but I don’t want to complain too much.

“I just want to give credit to Aubameyang – you’ve been doing brilliantly well this year.”