Brighton dominate as Champ Team of the Season is revealed

Date published: Monday 20th March 2017 11:32

Anthony Knockaert: In the team of the season
The tussle for the Championship title between Newcastle and Brighton looks like going down to the wire but Albion have more players in the Team of the Season with a quartet of selections.

Goalkeeper David Stockdale and centre-half Lewis Dunk have been solid at the back for a Brighton team that have conceded just 33 goals so far, which is the second best record in the Championship behind Newcastle, but no Toon players make up the defence.

Instead, Pontus Jansson of Leeds gets the nod alongside Dunk while Huddersfield’s Tommy Smith and Fulham’s Scott Malone fill the full-back positions.

Brighton are also represented in a three-man midfield through Anthony Knockaert, who has scored 13 goals this season, while Glenn Murray’s 18 goals sees him included as part of a three-man attack.

Newcastle striker Dwight Gayle has netted 21 goals and he makes the team while team-mate Jonjo Shelvey also gets in.

Chris Wood: Match-winner for Leeds United

Leeds’ impressive transformation under Garry Monk has been helped in no small part by Chris Wood’s goals and his double in a 2-0 win over Brighton at the weekend took his tally to 24 for the campaign to underline his position as the division’s most prolific striker.

Midfielder Aaron Mooy joins his Huddersfield team-mate Smith in the line-up and the Terriers’ automatic promotion challenge has been reflected by the selection of David Wagner as the manager of the Championship team of the year.

Team of the Season: Stockdale (Brighton); Smith (Huddersfield), Jansson (Leeds), Dunk (Brighton), Malone (Fulham); Mooy (Huddersfield), Shelvey (Newcastle), Knockaert (Brighton); Wood (Leeds), Gayle (Newcastle), Murray (Brighton).

Related Articles