Burton promoted to Champ, as Blackpool & Donny fall into L2

Date published: Sunday 8th May 2016 3:39

Burton secured promotion to the Championship with a goalless draw against relegated Doncaster despite Walsall’s best efforts to snatch the second automatic spot from the Brewers.

Nigel Clough’s side got the point they needed at the Keepmoat Stadium in a result which also saw Doncaster’s fight against relegation from League One come to an end on the final day of the season.


Walsall needed a three-goal swing to make their difference better than Burton’s in the hope their rivals lost and the Saddlers did their bit by 5-0 winning at Port Vale.

Anthony Forde’s double and further goals from Paul Downing, Tom Bradshaw and Sam Mantom showed Walsall have good form going into the play-offs.

Wigan were confirmed as champions despite a 4-1 home loss to Barnsley, who secured their place in the play-offs as a result.

Will Grigg had put Wigan ahead but two goals from Joshn Winnall, the first a penalty, and further strikes from Conor Hourihane and Josh Brownhill saw Barnsley take the final play-off spot and see off Scunthorpe’s challenge.

Joining them in the play-offs are Millwall and Bradford, who beat Gillingham and Chesterfield respectively.

A penalty from Lee Gregory in the eighth minute of stoppage time earned 10-man Millwall a 2-1 win.

The visitors had taken the lead through Aidan O’Brien before they had Mahlon Romeo sent off with four minutes remaining.

John Egan equalised for Gillingham two minutes into added time before Gregory’s late winner saw Millwall secure fourth spot ahead of Bradford.

The Bantams defeated 10-man Chesterfield 2-0 with goals from Lee Evans and Billy Clarke, with Sam Hird the man sent off.

Barnsley’s win meant Scunthorpe’s 2-0 victory at Sheffield United was not enough to lift them into the play-offs as they missed out on goal difference, their goals coming from Tom Hooper and Paddy Madden.

At the other end of the table Blackpool were relegated to League Two just five years after being in the Premier League. Having spent the 2010-11 season in the top flight they will now kick off next campaign in the fourth tier of English football following a 5-1 defeat at Peterborough.

Jacob Blyth had given Blackpool hope with an early opener but Jon Taylor’s hat-trick in 12 second half minutes proved decisive, Peterborough’s other goals coming from a Marcus Maddison penalty and Shaquile Coulthirst.

Doncaster also joined Blackpool in being relegated on Sunday although both their results had been made irrelevant by Fleetwood’s 2-0 win over Crewe, which came courtesy of goals from Bobby Grant and Devante Cole.

Shrewsbury also survived despite a 3-0 defeat at Swindon, who scored through Nicky Ajose (45 and 48) and Jordan Young (86).

Ryan Lowe’s stoppage-time penalty earned Bury a 3-2 win over Southend.

Lowe, who is leaving the Shakers for pastures new, scored twice for the home side who also profited from an Adam Barrett own goal, Franck Moussa and David Mooney both having given the visitors the lead.

Romain Vincelot and Adam Armstrong scored as Coventry won 2-0 at Oldham and Rochdale beat Colchester 2-1 as Nathaniel Mendez-Laing and Calvin Andrew found the target. Joe Edwards scored for Colchester.

Related Articles