Emre Can handed Confederations Cup chance by Germany

Date published: Wednesday 17th May 2017 1:57

Emre Can: Included in Germany's squad

Premier League trio Shkodran Mustafi, Emre Can and Leroy Sane have been named in Germany’s 23-man squad for the FIFA Confederations Cup.

Joachim Low has made a youthful selection for the summer tournament in Russia and includes seven uncapped players.

Arsenal defender Mustafi, Liverpool midfielder Can and Manchester City winger Sane are the only English-based players involved with the world champions.

Speaking at the squad announcement in Frankfurt, boss Low said he was keen to give an opportunity to some of the country’s emerging talent.

“We have a lot of young players with huge potential,” he said via Germany’s official Twitter account. “The squad has been chosen following extensive talks.

“We are preparing ourselves for the Confederations Cup in a very professional manner.”

Gunners centre-back Mustafi has scored once in 15 games for Germany, while Can has been capped eight times and Sane has made six appearances.

Hoffenheim duo Kerem Demirbay and Sandro Wagner are among the players yet to represent the country at senior level, along with Paris St Germain goalkeeper Kevin Trapp, Hertha Berlin defender Marvin Plattenhardt, Leipzig midfielder Diego Demme, Borussia Monchengladbach forward Lars Stindl and Ajax winger Amin Younes.

Germany, who have 15 Bundesliga-based players in their squad, qualified for the Confederations Cup thanks to their 2014 World Cup success in Brazil.

They have been drawn in Group B of the eight-team tournament, alongside Copa America winners Chile, Africa Cup of Nations champions Cameroon and Asian Cup holders Australia.

The competition kicks off on June 17, with the Germans’ opening match coming the following day against Australia in Sochi.

Full squad: Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Paris St Germain); Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector (Cologne), Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin), Antonio Rudiger (Roma), Niklas Sule (Hoffenheim); Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Emre Can (Liverpool), Kerem Demirbay (Hoffenheim), Diego Demme (Leipzig), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Sebastian Rudy (Hoffenheim), Julian Draxler (Paris St Germain), Amin Younes (Ajax), Leroy Sane (Manchester City); Lars Stindl (Borussia Monchengladbach), Sandro Wagner (Hoffenheim), Timo Werner (Leipzig).

Related Articles