Deeney makes PFA selection

Date published: Sunday 26th April 2015 2:11

Deeney, who scored at Brighton to help seal promotion on Saturday, is Watford’s sole representative in a line-up featuring two players from Bournemouth.

Eddie Howe’s side will all-but join Watford in the Premier League if they beat Bolton on Monday night, and right-back Simon Francis and winger Matt Ritchie are both included.

The selection is dominated by the promotion-chasing clubs, with Sheffield Wednesday goalkeeper Kieren Westwood the only inclusion from a team outside the top eight.

Derby’s Richard Keogh and Russell Martin of Norwich complete the back four along with George Friend, whose Middlesbrough team-mate Grant Leadbitter is named in a midfield featuring Bakary Sako of Wolves and Brentford’s on-loan Tottenham youngster Alex Pritchard.

Partnering Deeney in attack is the division’s top goalscorer, Daryl Murphy of Ipswich.

PFA Championship team: Kieren Westwood (Sheff Wed), Simon Francis (Bournemouth), Richard Keogh (Derby), Russell Martin (Norwich), George Friend (Middlesbrough), Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth), Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough), Bakary Sako (Wolves), Alex Pritchard (Brentford), Troy Deeney (Watford), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich).

Related Articles