Details of the new Premier League transfer window which opens on Thursday

Matthew Briggs

The Premier League transfer window will open later this week after clubs voted to introduce changes last September.

The decision was not unanimous, it was reached with a two-thirds majority of 14 clubs with five clubs voting against the change and one abstaining.

The window will officially open on May 17 – just four days after the end of the season and means business may also be conducted while the World Cup in Russia is taking place.

FIFA rules dictate the window must be open for 12 weeks, therefore the window will close on Thursday, August 9 at 5pm, as opposed to August 31.

The thinking behind it from the clubs is that players will not become unsettled with transfer speculation once the season has kicked off on August 11.

That deadline only relates to buying players and the selling or loaning of players will still be able to take place up until August 31 – the deadline for the remainder of Europe.

EFL clubs (40 for) also voted in favour of falling in line with the Premier League’s new deadline meaning they will adopt the same rules. They will still be able to loan players and register players that are free agents up until August 31, 2018.


Europe’s transfer windows

France – June 1 – Aug 31

Spain – June 1 – Aug 31

Germany – June 1 – Aug 31

Italy – June 1 – Aug 31


More from Planet Sport

Betting preview: 18/1 Juan Martin del Potro can reign in Rome (Tennis365)

Feature: Conclusions from the Spanish Grand Prix (PlanetF1)

Feature: Who’s hot and who’s not! (Planet Rugby)

Quiz! Test your knowledge on the career of Alexander Zverev (Tennis365)

Quiz: Test your knowledge of the career of Virat Kohli (Cricket365)