Harry Wilson misses decisive kick as Arsenal beat Liverpool on penalties

Bernd Leno, Joe Willock, Arsenal celeb penalty shootout v Liverpool TEAMtalk

Harry Wilson and Divock Origi both missed in the penalty shootout as Arsenal beat Liverpool 5-4 on penalties to reach the Carabao Cup quarter-finals.

After an entertaining match had finished 0-0 after 90 minutes, it was Mikel Arteta’s side who progressed to the last eight.

After Wilson’s miss, it was left to Joe Willock to slide home the decisive kick; his effort squirming under Adrian’s body.

Jurgen Klopp sprung something of a surprise with his line-up after handing Wilson handed his first-ever Liverpool start. But with the winger likely to move away, it could prove a fleeting opportunity for the Welshman.

A lively opening saw Eddie Nketiah and Marko Grujic both try their luck.

However, the best chance of the opening period fell on the stroke of half-time. The opportunity was created by a lovely Neco Williams cross, which saw Bernd Leno produce a fine save to deny Diogo Jota. Takumi Minamino then saw his follow up hit the crossbar.

The second half continued to see the sides trade attacks. It was Leno, though, who was the busier of the two keepers. He reacted well to push out a close-range Virgil van Dijk effort.

The German was also on hand to push another Grujic effort just wide, while Jota saw an effort very well saved by Leno.

Arsenal had fewer opportunities but did almost snatch the opener when Adrian pushed away a powerful Rob Holding header.

The Gunners brought on Alexandre Lacazette late on to try and swing the tie their way.

But it was Liverpool who forced the next opening, Williams seeing a drive well held by Leno.

However, despite the best efforts of both sets of players, it was left to penalties to decide the outcome.


Liverpool penalties:

1) James Milner – scored, 2) Gini Wijnaldum – scored, 3) Takumi Minamino – scored, 4) Divock Origi – miss (saved by Leno), 5) Curtis Jones – scored.

Sudden death: 6) Harry Wilson – missed (saved by Leno)


Arsenal penalties:

1) Alexandre Lacazette – scored, 2) Cedric Soares – scored, 3) Mohamed Elneny – miss (saved by Adrian), 4) Ainsley Maitland-Niles – scored, 5) Nicolas Pepe – scored.

Sudden death: 6) Joe Willock – scores