Howe claims LMA award

Date published: Tuesday 26th May 2015 10:59

Howe, who was also named Championship Manager of the Year, becomes only the second manager from outside the top flight to claim the LMA award since it began in 1992 after Danny Wilson claimed the honour in 1997 as manager of Barnsley.

In his second spell in charge of the Cherries, Howe led Bournemouth into the top division for the first time in their history, winning the Championship title and he claimed the prestigious award ahead of Chelsea boss Mourinho, Leicester manager Nigel Pearson, Swansea’s Garry Monk and Southampton boss Ronald Koeman.

It was the club’s third promotion under Howe, and second in the past three past seasons, as Bournemouth achieved promotion despite having been close to liquidation in 2008 and a game away from going out of the Football League in 2009.

In his second spell in charge of the Blues, Mourinho won the third Premier League title of his career as Chelsea finished eight points ahead of last year’s title winners Manchester City – an achievement that saw him pick up the top division’s managerial gong, although he was not in attendance due to Chelsea’s end of season awards night.

The League One award went to Steve Cotterill after Bristol City won the title by eight points ahead of Milton Keynes Dons in second place.

The only divisional award not to go to the manager of the title-winning side was the League Two gong, which went to Wycombe’s Gareth Ainsworth despite his side losing the play-off final to Southend on penalties.

Bradford City’s Phil Parkinson was named FA Cup manager of the year after his side beat Chelsea and Sunderland en route to the quarter-finals of the competition.

Related Articles