Iheanacho only had eyes on scoring despite VAR intervention

Liam Headd

Kelechi Iheanacho’s only thought was putting the ball in the net after the VAR was required to allow the striker his second goal against Fleetwood.

The Nigeria international scored twice for the home side, the second being awarded by VAR after the effort had initially been ruled out for offside.

“I didn’t know if I was onside or offside but I agree totally now that I was onside,” Iheanacho told BT Sport.

“I was concentrating on the goal, I didn’t think if I was onside or offside but Riyad (Mahrez) told me that I was onside.

“We just waited to see what the decision was.”

Iheanacho was glad to get his name on the scoresheet having scored just once for the Foxes since his summer move from Manchester City.

“The game needed it, my team needed it and I needed it as well. It was a great goal and good play from my team-mates.”

Fellow forward Jamie Vardy, playing against one of his former clubs, said of Iheanacho: “This man got the goals and has shown that VAR does work.”