New signings included as Man City name Champions League squad

Ruben Dias (pic from MCFC)

Manchester City’s squad for the 2020/21 Champions League group phase has been confirmed, with no major surprises.

City face a favourable draw in Group C that includes FC Porto, Olympiacos and Marseille.

Pep Guardiola’s men will get their European campaign underway in less than two weeks when Portuguese champions Porto visit the Etihad.

And their 21-man ‘A list’ squad has now been confirmed. New boys Nathan Ake, Ferran Torres and Ruben Dias are included, along with goalkeeper Zack Steffen.

The ‘A list’ can comprise of up to 25 players with a minimum of eight locally trained players, of whom four must have come through the club’s own ranks between the ages of 15 and 21.

As City don’t have any club-trained players that are required to be included in the A list, their maximum squad size of 25 is reduced to 21.

Scott Carson, John Stones, Kyle Walker and Raheem Sterling are all classed as locally trained players.

Neither Phil Foden or Eric Garcia are named on the ‘A list’, as club-trained players under the age of 21 do not need to take up a spot in the main squad. They are instead on a ‘B list.’

The ‘B list’ is made up of players aged 21 or younger with two years’ training at the club. That can be updated any time up to midnight before a Champions League match.

City squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Ederson, Steffen, Carson

Midfielders: Gundogan, Rodri, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Torres, Fernandinho.

Forwards: Mahrez, Sterling, Jesus, Aguero.