Just two Liverpool players in, as Reddit user works out Garth Crooks’ Team of the Season

Date published: Monday 23rd March 2020 11:07

A Reddit user has worked out Garth Crooks’ Team of the Season up until the point the Premier League was suspended and it’s comical.

The BBC Sport pundit’s Team of the Week is published every Monday has become a topic of debate and often criticised, and his Team of the Season so far is no different.

A Reddit user has worked out Crook’s XI┬ábased on how many times he has picked a player in a specific position this season.

And the results are crazy with only two Liverpool players in the line-up, despite the fact the Reds are a mammoth 25 points clear at the top of the table with the season suspended until at the earliest April 30.

Jurgen Klopp’s men need just two wins to register their first top-flight title for 30 years and have dropped just five points all season after drawing with Man Utd and losing to Watford from their 29 games to date.

Despite that Crooks’ proposed line-up sees just Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane in the XI with no place for Trent Alexander-Arnold, Jordan Henderson or Mo Salah.

Man Utd see Harry Maguire and Bruno Fernandes included, despite Fernandes only arriving at Old Trafford in January.

Man City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne is the standout pick in midfield, having been inlcuded in Crook’s Team of the Week an amazing 11 times.

In goal is Manchester City’s Ederson, with his three defenders van Dijk, Maguire and Crystal Palace centre-back Gary Cahill.

Fernandinho joins De Bruyne in midfield along with Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish, while Fernandes makes the cut even though he has appeared just five times in the Premier League.

Jamie Vardy, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mane make the three-man forward line.




Crooks’ XI so far:

Ederson (Man City – picked 5 times)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool – 7)

Harry Maguire (Man Utd – 6)

Gary Cahill (Crystal Palace – 4)

Fernandinho (Man City – 4)

Jack Grealish (Aston Villa – 5)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City – 11)

Bruno Fernandes (Man Utd – 4)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal – 5)

Jamie Vardy (Leicester City – 5)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool – 7)

Related Articles