Schweini among three Prem stars in Germany squad

Date published: Tuesday 31st May 2016 1:14

Bastian Schweinsteiger: Left frustrated by Germany's semi-final exit

Bastian Schweinsteiger has been included in Germany’s final 23-man squad for Euro 2016, but Marco Reus has been left out.

Schweinsteiger was a doubt for the tournament having missed 17 of Manchester United’s final 18 Premier League games of the season through injury, but Joachim Low has put his faith in his captain.

Reus, however, misses out on the advise of medical staff, meaning there is a place for former Arsenal striker Lukas Podolski. Karim Bellarabi, Julian Brandt and Sebastian Rudy are the other players cut from the provisional squad by Low.

As well as Schweinsteiger, Arsenal playmaker Mesut Ozil and Liverpool’s Emre Can are the Premier League’s other representatives.

Low told reporters at a press conference that Schweinsteiger and fellow injury doubt Mats Hummels will be ready to take part in France.

“I know that it’s a major disappointment for those players who aren’t going to be involved,” Low said.

“Mats Hummels and Bastian Schweinsteiger will be fit for Euro 2016. The prognosis was clear.”

Low is disappointed that Reus was unable to win his own fitness battle and added: “It’s a shame because he would have strengthened us.”

The world champions have been drawn in Group C and will face Ukraine (June 12), Poland (June 16) and Northern Ireland (June 21).

Germany squad: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen); Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Benedikt Howedes (Schalke), Jonas Hector (FC Koln), Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia), Antonio Rudiger (Roma), Emre Can (Liverpool); Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Mario Gotze (Bayern Munich), Andre Schurrle (Wolfsburg), Julian Draxler (Wolfsburg), Leroy Sane (Schalke), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich); Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Mario Gomez (Besiktas).

Related Articles