UEFA Nations League draw: England to face familiar foes in League A

Date published: Tuesday 3rd March 2020 5:48

Gareth Southgate’s England have been drawn to face Denmark, Iceland and Belgium in the group stages of this season’s UEFA Nations League.

The Three Lions reached the semi-finals of the first edition of the competition in June but were beaten in extra time by the Netherlands, with Portugal going on to lift the trophy.

The draw throws up dark memories for England, who were dumped out of Euro 2016 by Iceland in the last 16.

England last met Belgium in the World Cup third-place play off in 2018 and are scheduled to play Denmark in a friendly in March.

Holders Portugal have been handed a tough group, facing World Cup champions France and runners-up Croatia.

Netherlands, meanwhile, will play Italy and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Elsewhere, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland were each drawn in one of four groups in League B.

Scotland will face Israel, Slovakia and Czech Republic in Group B2, with Northern Ireland playing Norway, Romania and Austria in Group B1.

Wales were the last team drawn in League B and will play Finland, Republic of Ireland and Bulgaria in Group B4.

Should England top their group, they will qualify for the finals of the competition in June along with the winners of the other groups in League A.

The group winners from Leagues B, C, and D, meanwhile will gain promotion ahead of the next Nations League tournament, while the bottom teams in Leagues A and B will be relegated alongside two teams from League C.



Group phase action begins in September, with two games being played in each of the three international breaks spread between then and December. Teams will play each other home and away.

League A:

Group A1: Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Italy, Netherlands

Group A2: Denmark, Iceland, Belgium, England

Group A3: Sweden, Croatia, France, Portugal

Group A4: Germany, Ukraine, Spain, Switzerland

League B

Group B1: Norway, Northern Ireland, Romania, Austria

Group B2: Scotland, Israel, Slovakia, Czech Republic

Group B3: Serbia, Hungary, Turkey, Russia

Group B4: Finland, Republic of Ireland, Bulgaria, Wales

League C

Group C1: Azerbaijan, Luxembourg, Cyprus, Montonegro

Group C2: Armenia, Estonia, North Macedonia, Georgia

Group C3: Moldova, Slovenia, Kosovo, Greece

Group C4: Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Belarus, Albania

League D

Group D1: Malta, Andorra, Latvia, Faroe Islands

Group D2: Liechtenstein, San Marino, Gibraltar

Related Articles