WATCH: Budweiser unveils 2016 Dream Goal competition‏ winner

Oli Fisher
Warren Byrne: Winner of the Dream Goal competition

The winner of Budweiser Dream Goal, a hunt for the UK’s best amateur goal of the season, has officially been revealed as 33-year-old Warren Byrne from Durham.

Warren has beaten thousands of players from across the UK to be crowned Dream Goal winner, and has the once-in-a-lifetime experience of having his screamer analysed on national television by Sky Sports pundits Jamie Carragher, Jamie Redknapp and Ed Chamberlin. He also takes home an impressive £50k grant from Budweiser Club Futures to support the non-league club of his choice.

Warren’s incredible winning goal for his team, South Shields FC, South Tyneside, was revealed on national television during Sky Sports’ main halftime slot, as a dramatic finale for the nationwide competition. His goal will then be given the star treatment that professional goal scorers enjoy, and be analysed and celebrated on TV by some of Sky Sports’ best pundits – Carragher, Redknapp and Chamberlin.

In addition to being crowned winner of Dream Goal 2016, Warren has also won a remarkable £50k grant to support a non-league football club of his choice – a new addition to this year’s prize package provided by Budweiser Club Futures.

Warren says of his win:

“I’m still in shock that the pundits chose my goal, especially given there were so many great contenders shown on Sky Sports over the last few weeks! My club, South Shields FC, are completely made up with my win and have already started making big plans for the £50k prize.

“Getting a call from Carragher, Redknapp and Chamberlin was also an absolute highlight, and one I won’t forget anytime soon – thank you Budweiser Dream Goal!”

Jamie Carragher says of Warren’s win:

“The standard of entries this year has been so high it’s incredible – it certainly made picking the winner that little bit harder. We deliberated for a long time, but in the end we all agreed that Warren’s goal had that special something to ultimately win Budweiser Dream Goal 2016.”

Budweiser Dream goal 2

Laura Salway, Senior Brand Manager at Budweiser, says of the campaign:

“We’ve had even more goals submitted, more people getting behind the competition and – of course – our amazing new prize fund to support the amateur clubs of our winners and runners up via Budweiser Club Futures.”

 As part of this year’s new prize package, in addition to the £50k winner’s grant, Budweiser Club Futures is also awarding five £10k grants to runners-up for their outstanding goals. The official runners-up of the 2016 Budweiser Dream Goal competition are:

– Chris Bacon – Wisbech Town FC

– Raymond Westbrook – Portsmouth Amputees FC

– Louis Webster – Home Rangers

– Colm Coveney – Blackpool Celtic

– Neil Clydesdale – Banbridge Rangers FC

 The winner and runners-up will also receive FA training session for their teams.